2011 Winners

  • Young Achiever of the Year

    This award recognises an entrepreneur who has achieved business success at a young age. Through determination and grit they have demonstrated age is not a barrier to business success. Open to anyone under the age of 30.

    Winner: Ricky Singh with presenters Sarah Scace of the Princes Scottish Youth Business Trust and Gavin Hay of City Building.

  • Franchisee of the Year

    This award recognises individuals among us who have taken on, managed and successfully expanded a franchise. This award is open to non Scottish brands however the franchisee must be Scottish registered.

    Winner: Saima Afzal with presenter Rahan Ali Irshad of United Wholesale Grocers.

  • Small Business of the Year

    This award recognises a non retail business that continues to grow, while remaining true to its small enterprise role. Open to businesses with less than 10 employees.

    Winner: Nasir, Imran , Omar, Yusaf and Kashif Khan with presenter Colin Borland from the Federation of Small Businesses.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award

    Recognises an extremely dedicated individual who has experienced the highs and lows of business – emerging at the top of their game and furthermore, has positively contributed to their community.

    Winner: Charan Gill with presenter Andy Fraser of HSBC.

  • Community Award

    The Community Award recognises that success cannot be measured in monetary terms alone. Positively impacting lives and making a tangible difference is in itself is a vast accomplishment. Those achievements which leave a legacy of positive change to carry forward into the future should therefore be held in the highest esteem.

    Winner: Zahid Rafiq with presenter Ruaraidh Nicolson of Strathclyde Police.

  • Entrepreneur of the Year

    This award brings to light the incredible achievements of an individual whose entrepreneurial spirit, and drive, has propelled them to success. This person will also lead and set examples to others and show that boundaries must be pushed at all times to achieve success regardless of the hurdles.

    Winner: Samrat Sarkar with presenter George McCracken of Grant Thornton.

  • Businesswoman of the Year

    This award recognises an exceptional individual who is not only an ambassador for woman and ethnic minorities but an inspiration to all in the business world.

    Winner: Preet Sandhu with presenter Dr. Rita Ahmad of Peppermint Studios

  • Businessman of the Year

    This award recognises a businessman whose actions and accomplishments are an inspiration to us all.

    Winner: Asim Sarwar with presenter Deepak Bali of DRB Solicitors.

  • Business of the Year

    This award recognises the enterprise that has come on leaps and bounds over the last year and thus unequivocally dominated its corner of the market.

    Winner: Binder Gosal with presenter John Rendall of HSBC.