2009 Winners

  • Young Achiever of the Year

    This award recognises an entrepreneur who has achieved business success at a young age. Through determination and grit they have demonstrated age is not a barrier to business success. Open to anyone under the age of 30.

    Winners: Bobby & Preet Sandhu (Happy Lets), presented by Navjot Singh, Global HR Communications Manager for Shell.

  • Small Business of the Year

    This award recognises a non retail business that continues to grow, while remaining true to its small enterprise role. Open to businesses with less than 10 employees.

    Winner: Lets Direct, presented by Geoff Leask, Head of Operations, for PSYBT.

  • Franchisee of the Year

    This award recognises individuals among us who have taken on, managed and successfully expanded a franchise. This award is open to non Scottish brands however the franchisee must be Scottish registered.

    Winner: Baguette Express – Azeem, presented by Hans Director of Goldstar Chefs.

  • Business of the Year

    This award recognises the enterprise that has come on leaps and bounds over the last year and thus unequivocally dominated its corner of the market.

    Winner: Little Einstein's – Deepak, presented by Senior Partner at Clydesdale, Andrena Murdoch.

  • Businesswoman of the Year

    This award recognises an exceptional individual who is not only an ambassador for woman and ethnic minorities but an inspiration to all in the business world.

    Winner: Poonam Gupta (PG PAPER), presented by MD of I.A Contracts Iftikar Chaudhary

  • Businessman of the Year

    This award recognises a businessman whose actions and accomplishments are an inspiration to us all.

    Winner: Arshad Ali (Scottish Centre for Excellence in Dentistry), presented on behalf of IOD, by Jim Shaw Senior partner from Clydesdale Bank

  • Community Award

    The Community Award recognises that success cannot be measured in monetary terms alone. Positively impacting lives and making a tangible difference is in itself is a vast accomplishment. Those achievements which leave a legacy of positive change to carry forward into the future should therefore be held in the highest esteem.

    Winner: Nari Kallyan Shangho, presented by Assistant Chief Constable George Hamilton of Strathclyde Police.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award

    Recognises an extremely dedicated individual who has experienced the highs and lows of business – emerging at the top of their game and furthermore, has positively contributed to their community.

    Winner: Mr Maqbool Rasul presented by Secretary of State for Scotland, Jim Murphy

  • Entrepreneur of the Year

    This award brings to light the incredible achievements of an individual whose entrepreneurial spirit, and drive, has propelled them to success. This person will also lead and set examples to others and show that boundaries must be pushed at all times to achieve success regardless of the hurdles.

    Winner: Yasmin Khanam, sponsored by ChemistOnline.co.uk and presented by First Minister Alex Salmond